Fitness, The Witness.

Hello Dear Friends and Readers,

I’ve never really been sure of how these blog things work, or how best to introduce myself and what I will be sharing – so I’ll just get right to it!

My name is Marvin aka “Marvinho” – like Ronaldo aka “Ronaldinho.”
More on that later…
Hey, don’t be cynical – it’s the best example I have 🙂

Since I’m approaching the big three-O, some also know me as “Uncle.”
I have two lovely little rascals for nephews who are certainly entitled to do so: the rest of you can feel free to see yourself outside.

As some of you know, I am a Christian and my faith in the Lord Jesus Christ is a big part of my life.

Just thought I’d get that out there, early doors eh?

I’m not exactly “religious” or appear to be whatever some may feel a typical believer looks like. But what does a typical Christian look like anyways?
In whatever we do, whether it’s church, work, school, sports or business – we’re all not perfect and we will all make mistakes: it’s how you learn, recover and come back from these mistakes which will define you.

To the blog itself – in starting it, two questions beckoned:
To what degree could I consider my pursuit of the Lord, a genuine one?
One where I seek and pursue purely on the basis of my love for Him – and not because I am before the eyes of a watchful readership?
If the latter, does it stand to reason that this is actually a good thing, if I deem myself accountable to any of you who stumble upon this blog?
Of course, my walk and experience in the Faith should be ongoing – irrespective of who is watching or not – because God certainly is.

I guess this is a dilemma for many of us which can be applied in many different settings and situations.

Then, concerning football: to what degree could I consider my journey back into the semi-professional level and – possibly beyond – a genuine one?
If I didn’t have this blog, a few Instagram and Twitter followers watching my next move and pats on the back here and there: would I still bother?
Would I still rise up out of bed in the early hours of the morning, to push myself and my body?
There are many kids nearly half my age, who can do exactly what I can – and then some. Why is it that I have now decided to try and do this at an age where players who have played for years, are now either reaching their prime or being deemed surplus to requirements?

Maybe, it’s because I believe I would have been able to reach the highest level of the game if I didn’t stop playing back in 2008.
I figured that whilst my body is still feeling young and in good shape, I’ll see how far this can actually go.

Follow me on what could be one of the biggest “what-if” stories in history, unfolding right before your very eyes: my struggle for fitness and journey from non-league obscurity to the big leagues.

I may not make it – but I’ll be super fit in the process!

In turn, may my fitness journey be a witness to you.
I will wrestle with my faith and with some of the things I see daily – and you’ll read about that here.
Along the way, some of my other interests will become apparent to you and I hope you’ll find it of great benefit and inspiration.

In the end, may we all be inspired – encouraging one another with great vim, over a bottle of Hope, filled to the brim.

M.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. toficzak says:

    It seems we both just started blogging adventure! 🙂 Nice to meet you, Marvinho!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. unclemarv says:

      Nice to meet you too Toficzak!
      Yes indeed we have. Looking forward to how the story will develop.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      M.

      Like

Leave a Reply

